I want a website for my Holiday Place!

User-CB94CED6-F3AA-42E7-8A286564F5DCBC14 16:15 26 Jan 2008

I am a complete novice and want to make a website myself for a self catering place in Crete. I will have my own domain name but how do I best go about finding an all-in-one hoster where I can create and control a website. I think I would need the following:

1. 6 main pages.
2. on-line booking and paying.
3. availability chart.
4. local area stuff.
5. googlemap of the place.
6. probably links to flight details.
7. email facilities.
8.payment reminders.

Any advice on any of these appreciated. Thanks.

Rose 17:21 26 Jan 2008

Hi cantthinkofanickname
While not a complete novice I stumbled across this piece of software - click here - and was so impressed by it, I bought it and created my first website click here I then discovered by reading this forum that heartinternet is currently offering free web hosting so I uploaded my newly created site there. I can't recommend this software enough and heartinternet were fantastic when I needed help finding how to sign up for their free offer. As a novice you won't go wrong if you decide to go down this route. Before making a decision make sure to watch all the tutorials on the Incomedia Website and if you decide to buy, pay in Euro, it's cheaper than the quoted GB Pound price. The best of luck with your venture.

Forum Editor 00:19 27 Jan 2008

will provide you with the facilities outlined by fourm member.

The web design package is Ok for basic stuff but it will not cope with DB additions, PHP I suspect. It's all very well going for the sexy looking stuff but once you need dynamic stuff like maps, feeds and paypal then a CMS is required. I wonder if anyone has bought a hosting with a website creation pakage and actually used the more complex stuff for paypal and rental booking etc.? Anyone?

Forum Editor 12:52 27 Jan 2008