i want to upgrade my graphics card

helluvatractor 08:08 31 Jan 2009

hi all, am afraid i am a definate newbie when it comes to whats new in the computer world nowadays

i'm after a bit of advice. i'd like to play some newer games on my pc, (i've grown bored with the early medal of honours and call of duties, brilliant that they are). i've borrowed some games off a mate : james bond - quantum of solace, medal of honour airborne and call of duty 4 but my machine cannot cope even when all the graphics options are turned to lowest. (moh airborne isn't even supported by my card)

so i'd like to upgrade my graphics card, but i'm not sure whether my machine is up to it ; i don't want to fork out on a graphics card if my pc isn't really fast enough. eg. putting a shiny new engine in a clapped out car

i've had it for 3-4 years now and the specs are;

amd athlon 64 4000+
2.41 ghz
150 gb ram
nvidia geforce 6200 turbocache

if the computer could handle a better graphics card that would let me play these types of games without the juddering (i don't mind turning down the graphics options) then could anyone suggest a reasonably priced card that would be suitable? around 50 pounds or cheaper? even older ones on ebay?
many thanks, matt

crosstrainer 09:14 31 Jan 2009

150gb of ram? I doubt it. to enable us to help, download and run this free tool:

click here

We don't need the whole report, just the motherboard, memory and graphics card details.

Post back with these and we will be better able to assist :))

helluvatractor 19:17 31 Jan 2009

cheers, i'vs just copies and pasted the relevant bits (i think)

Operating System System Model
Windows XP Professional Service Pack 2 (build 2600) Enclosure Type: Desktop
Processor a Main Circuit Board b
2.40 gigahertz AMD Athlon 64
128 kilobyte primary memory cache
1024 kilobyte secondary memory cache Board: 939NF6G-VSTA
Bus Clock: 200 megahertz
BIOS: American Megatrends Inc. P1.40 04/30/2007
Drives Memory Modules c,d