I hit 'undo' and lost my files

EllenWatts 15:26 19 Apr 2015
Answered

Hi, I'm very new at this and I've tried all I'm aware I can, so I just wanted to ask for some help at all please?

Right. Basically I needed to create some room on my camera, so I moved the files across to my laptop and, after a successful transfer, I deleted them from the camera (stupid move in hindsight). I then selected all of the files on the laptop, with the intention to move them to their own folder - however I then occidentally pressed 'ctrl+z' rather than 'ctrl-c'

This was a couple of days ago since I went camping and I had no way of continuing my search whilst there. I have searched my recycle bin, done a manual sweep of my folders and downloaded a file recovery software programme, but I still can't find the videos.

Ordinarily I wouldn't mind too much however some of the videos were of extreme sentimental value to myself and my family. If anyone could please help me I would be eternally grateful!

johndrew 15:45 19 Apr 2015

You may be able to reverse the action by using Control-Y but I know of no other way of reversing the action.

It may be the video on your camera card could be restored but again it is beyond my knowledge as to how this may be achieved.

As a final resort have you looked in the Recycle Bin in case the video is there?

EllenWatts 16:17 19 Apr 2015

Hi johndrew, I have already tried what you suggested to no avail. Thank you for the advice though

EllenWatts 16:17 19 Apr 2015

Hi johndrew, I have already tried what you suggested to no avail. Thank you for the advice though

rdave13 16:41 19 Apr 2015