HTML Help - Frames!

Binoboy 13:19 11 Aug 2003

Hi,

I'm looking for some HTML help with frames. I'm doing my best to use WebExpress 2.0 to build a website but I'm having some problems putting frames into it, something I've never done before. Basically I don't know how to click on a link on the frame on the right so the main area of the screen goes to that page. I know this is to do with tags but I don't understand them all that well and I would appreciate it if someone could tell me where to put them in the HTML scripting. Thanks :)

Ben Avery 13:41 11 Aug 2003

Try this - text which needs changing to suit is enclosed in 3 {{{ signs ok?:

<html>

<frameset cols="{{{INPUT COLUMN WIDTH HERE}}}" frameborder="{{{YES or NO}}}" border="{{{BORDER WIDTH}}}" framespacing="{{{FRAME SPACING - IF UNSURE LEAVE AS 0}}}" frame name="{{{PUT A NAME FOR THE MAIN FRAME HERE - USUALLY MainFrame OR SIMILAR}}}" src="{{{THIS IS THE PATH FOR THE ACTUAL HTML FRAME AND WILL LOOK SOMETHING LIKE MainFrame.html IF YOU HAVE IT IN THE MAIN WEB FOLDER}}}">

<frameset cols="{{{INPUT COLUMN WIDTH HERE}}}" frameborder="{{{YES or NO}}}" border="{{{BORDER WIDTH}}}" framespacing="{{{FRAME SPACING - IF UNSURE LEAVE AS 0}}}" frame name="{{{PUT A NAME FOR THE RIGHT FRAME HERE - USUALLY RightFrame OR SIMILAR}}}" scrolling="{{{DO YOU WANT IT TO BE SCROLLABLE YES OR NO}}}" noresize {{{THIS FUNCTION STOPS THE WIDTH BEING CHANGED BY VIEWERS}}} src="{{{FRAME SOURCE E.G. Navigation_Bar.html OR RightFrame.html}}}">
</frameset>

I'm sure any mistakes I have made will be picked up on and advised accordingly!

BA

Binoboy 14:04 11 Aug 2003

Cheers that's great, I'll just give it a go

Binoboy 14:20 11 Aug 2003

One last thing, how do you code a link in the NavBar so that it's the mainframe the new page appears in?

Ben Avery 14:41 11 Aug 2003

When you type you HREF code in, include the following:

target="_main"