hp scanjet 3570c Instalation problem

Bingalau 20:22 28 Mar 2003

I am trying to instal a new scanner as per title. Unfortunately when I get to a certain stage i.e. "Registering product" in the downloading of the software. The computer tells me to "Please insert the disk HP Scanning Software" As this disk is already inserted I am somewhat flummoxed. The computer also seems to be looking for the disk in the wrong place namely the floppy disk drive. My computer is a Compaq 5861 and I am on Windows 98SE. I have been going round in ever decreasing circles all day. Is there a Scanner Installing Expert out there anywhere Please?........Bingalau

hamelin 21:55 28 Mar 2003

Have you tried using the browse button to tell Windows 98se where to look?

Bingalau 22:02 28 Mar 2003

Yes.. It keeps coming back to drive "A" which although I am not good at these things I always thought was the Floppy Disk Drive? I did try getting moving on that drive but failed.

Bingalau 22:06 28 Mar 2003

I have also been through to the help line and only got a nice "Asian Sounding Lady" who put me on hold and treated me to too long a period of "Frank Sinatra's It Was A Very Good Year" and although I am a fan of "Frankie" I begrudge paying for him over phone. I am still waiting on a reply from the "E"Mail I sent to the on line help department.

hamelin 22:21 28 Mar 2003

I don't know if this will be of help but have a look at this: click here

woodchip 22:32 28 Mar 2003

Use the browse button when it asks for the disc and check all the files and folders on the disc until it see's what it's looking for then click OK

Bingalau 21:36 29 Mar 2003

Sorry guys but nothing helps as yet. There is no "Browse" button available to click on when it asks for the disk...There is nothing on the HP site that helps either. Could it be anything to do with the Drive letters? Why does it keep searching the "A" Drive? Why haven't H.P. answered my "E" Mail querie? Are they usually as unco-operative?