HP DJ840c. Printing Postcards Problem

skodadriver 14:26 16 Jul 2008

Help please. I am using my trusty HP deskjet 840c to produce postcards for my local church. I have made a template up for the "reverse" (address) side, which works on 6" x 4" postcard photopaper.
The problem is actually printing the photograph on the "front side".

I have been using this printer for about 10 years, so know it pretty well. However, when I try to print the picture, although there is a setting for 6x4 card, it has a tab alongside the listing, and the postcard has a white band down the right hand side (the tab presumably)...

I have tried to set the printer to use A4, and print the photo in the appropriate corner, but it is a bit "iffy" and have to make sure the card slots in perfectly, or it will not print properly.
Also the printer reports "out of paper" halfway through, as it has already chucked the card out after printing !.

Does anyone know what settings to use to get the whole of the picture on the whole of the card?

All thoughts will be carefully tried, and considered.

Thank you

recap 14:57 16 Jul 2008

What program have you used to produce the postcards?

skodadriver 15:09 16 Jul 2008

Hi,
Sorry, I made the "address" side using M$ Publisher 98 (a very trusty program)

The Photo handling is done with Irfanview.
However, that does not control the "Printer Set Up" facilities, which are "embedded" (I think) in the HP printer driver. (of which I have no Knowledge, except that you put the disc in and it works ! !)

I also have a DJ 5940 (more modern) which will print the photos on 6X4 properly, however, the print cartridges are so small, and soon run out, so it is not economical to use that printer. I do re-fill my 840c and have no problems with that. but the 5940 uses vivera inks and the refill ink is not the same mix or colours as the original.

Hope that helps.....!

recap 15:14 16 Jul 2008