How to manage my huge folder of photos?

Pineman100 11:22 23 Feb 2015

Apologies if this rather a long question, but you'll soon see why!

I run Windows 8.1. I use a laptop computer (connected to an external screen and keyboard/mouse) so there's no room in the computer for a second built-in hard drive.

I'm an amateur photography enthusiast. My Pictures folder has grown to some 420GB of data which was taking up around half of my HDD on its own! So I have moved all of my photos on to a USB 2TB external HDD, with a backup on a second USB 1TB external HDD.

This has relieved the pressure on my C: drive, but is far from a satisfactory solution. Now, whenever I want to open or save a photograph, I have a frustrating wait while my external HDD cranks up and finds the file. This can sometimes take 30 seconds or more. Saving a file and browsing the drive has the same problem.

This nuisance is duplicated by having to save every new file to the backup Pictures folder on my external backup drive as well as my principal external drive.

Here's what I would ideally like to have:-

• The ability to browse, open and save photo files on an external drive as quickly (or almost as quickly) as I can on my C: drive.

• An external backup HDD that will automatically sync with the Pictures folder on my external HDD, so that whenever I save a file, it is actually saved on to both drives. I don't mind if this is achieved by scheduling a sync between the two drives every couple of days or so.

I'd be extremely grateful for any ideas on how to achieve my ideal solution, without it costing too much!

xania 11:51 23 Feb 2015

Have you considered partitioning the HHD so that you have your photos on a separate virtual drive? Anything that you do via an external device is bound to be slower than via an internal device.