How legal is VNC in the workplace

geewis357 21:12 13 Aug 2006

Hi guys,
I have been a student to IT for a few years now and to earn a few quid in the summer hols I have been dooing a few hours or so for a security firm only to find that a couple of pc's are running VNC and all the other officers don't know what it is and are not concerned. What I know is that VNC is used to see what other people are dooing on another computer or am I wrong.

p;3 21:51 13 Aug 2006

I have a VNC on my home pc; the only way that anyone can connect TO my pc is if I code in my details to the program ; else it is not "live"; at work we have our admin; they have to know what pc it is they are dealing with TO remote access it; but; what do you mean BY running the VNC? is it frequently open or what?

Joe R 21:52 13 Aug 2006

geewis357,

one of our offices has this software, and I may be corrected, but I believe it allows the user of a particular P.C. , to access it remotely, whilst offsite.

geewis357 21:58 13 Aug 2006

I only know that it is running cos i can see it in the system tray, I belive that the owner of the building knows it is running but told the manager it was nothing to worry about. my question is, should all personel who use the pc be notified that all activity may be viewed by an administrator?

p;3 22:03 13 Aug 2006

surely in any office the admin can see what you are doing or record what you do; where I work in the NHS ALL out computer work is monitored and ALL sites we visit are recorded;

p;3 22:06 13 Aug 2006

also; when we log in, we see a notice telling us about security and so forth ; the VNC is useful if a pc has a problem and the admin need to sort it by remote access; I have had that several times recently at work;

geewis357 22:07 13 Aug 2006

you are corect, but you have been told that you are being monitered, in my situation no one is aware of this. The guy who owns the building is know to like his pc toys

Devil Fish 01:31 14 Aug 2006