How To Install Memory – Complete Novice

NSBT 12:25 14 Nov 2007

Hi

My new memory card from Crucial has arrived, although I have absolutely no idea how to install it.

Never having done it before, is it straight forward, or would I need to take it to a shop?

I'm frightened to death of messing something up.

TIA

User-312386 12:32 14 Nov 2007

I assume you mean RAM for the inside of your case that attaches to the motherboard(MOBO)?

If you are it is straightforward

Undo the screws for the side of the case, remove the side and then look where the dimm slots are and there will be a stick of memory already there, there are 2 little levers each end, ensure they are pushed away from where the memory slots in. Now position your memory in line with the notch and then push firmly (not to hard) and then who should hear a slight click as the retainers pop into place

Belatucadrus 12:40 14 Nov 2007

Safety tip, touch a radiator for a few seconds before handling the module to ensure you're not carrying any static charge that could damage it. RAM modules seem much tougher nowadays but it's a simple precaution.

NSBT 13:47 14 Nov 2007

OK, thanks the the help guys

I'm just about to do it, can I just ask, do I put the new stick into the empty slot, or do I replace the stick that's already in there?

rawprawn 13:59 14 Nov 2007

Assuming that you are increasing the RAM already installed, just put the new one in the spare slot next to the one you have already.

Technotiger 14:00 14 Nov 2007