How "good" is Google Chrome?

Diemmess 09:42 20 Mar 2011

Downloaded but not installed and the icon tempts me.

I'm happy with XP Pro BT Yahoo mail and the rest of [to me] a familiar setup including IE 8.

What am I missing if I don't install Google Chrome?

or

If I don't like it, is it easy to uninstall or must I use the faithful Acronis?

morddwyd 09:51 20 Mar 2011

If you're happy with IE why change?

Chrome is my browser of choice and as been since the beta.

It's slicker, thinner and faster than anything else I've used.

I can't compare it with IE in any of its later incarnations since I've not used it since the 90s.

The Kestrel 09:52 20 Mar 2011

I have been using Chrome as my main browser for many months now and would not change back to Firefox, which I used previously. The main reason is that it is so much quicker loading pages than either Firefox or IE8. To date I have had no security issues using Chrome, or any other issues to make me uninstall it.

Ian in Northampton 11:02 20 Mar 2011

I've never regretted moving from IE to Chrome. IE 8 is required to be the default browser at work, and I'm always struck by how clunky and slow it is by comparison with Chrome, which I use at home. I'd recommend trying it out: it's easy enough to uninstall should you wish to go back.

Batch 11:23 20 Mar 2011

Pros
----
- Chrome is very fast in comparison with IE7/8 (much less so with IE9 - but that's not available on XP). It loads much more quickly, it is much quicker at rendering pages and switches between tabs quickly.

- Minimalist approach to use of screen estate (with no need to addin the likes of Google Toolbar that I had with IE as it's all built in)

- Flash player is bundled in and updates automatically often well before the main release of a Flash update (as is the case with the current highly critical Flash issue - Chrome updated a couple of days ago, whereas Adobe won't be releasing downloads for the likes of IE for another few days yet).