How do I overclock E8400?

maiden fan 17:06 02 Jul 2012
Answered

At the moment my processor is running at its normal 3GHZ, I was told that all I had to do was change the multiplier and FSB from x8 and 333 to x9 and 400 to increase the processor from 3 to 3.6gig but have read somewhere else that I need to change the voltage.

I have never done this before so I need to be sure to get it right. Below is my computer spec.

Intel pentium E8400 3.00GHZ Arctic cool, freezer 1 pro s775 cooler Gigabyte P35-DS3L motherboard 4gig Crucial baliitix ram Corsair 850wt PSU Nividia Geforce 460 GTX graphics Windows 7 64 bit

Thank you for any help you can give.

KRONOS the First 17:35 02 Jul 2012

Downlod these Programs:

CPU-Z

SpeedFan

Prime95

With Gigabyte Board:

We are looking for the CPU FSB Frequency, PCI Xpress Bus Frequency, and Memory Multiplier Settings.

Set your CPU FSB Frequency to 400mhz

Now set your PCI Xpress Frequency to 100mhz

Now set your Memory Multiplier to 2X (Assuming you have DDR2-800 which most do)

You should now get a reading of 3.6Ghz

You should be at 37c with the Freezer Pro with the CPU at 3.6Ghz, however some E8400s have problems reporting core temperatures. IF you are above 60c @3.6 then I would set it back to 3.0ghz and check that your HSF is seated properly and checks your cases airflow to make sure no fans are fighting each other.

Nontek 17:37 02 Jul 2012

IMHO you would be better of just increasing your RAM to 8Gb.

I can never understand why people want to over-clock their CPUs, and it so often includes people who don't seem to understand over-clocking.

I wish you good luck if you do insist, but beware you could do serious damage to your pride-n-joy.

Nontek 17:45 02 Jul 2012

More info here which I hope might help ....

click here

maiden fan 19:38 02 Jul 2012

Thanks everyone to your replies but Nontek has me thinking.