How do I get this wired router to work??! HELP!

Lorns 23:42 02 Jul 2007

I have just installed a new D-Link modem, as I needed one with an ethernet connection rather than a USB, so that I could set up a wired router, so eventually I can get my Nintendo Wii up and running....

Although I seem to have the modem working (although it says that it is through a Local Area Connection, and then says Realtek RTL8139 Family PCI Fast Ethernet NIC - which I don't know if this is my new modem or could it be an in-built one??!), when I plug in the Sweex router, I cannot seem to configure it properly to work with my Pipex ISP broadband connection.

I'm not sure which settings I am supposed to choose, any help would be greatly appreciated, as you can see I am a complete novice! Thanx

mgmcc 00:09 03 Jul 2007

I suspect that you have the wrong hardware. For ADSL broadband via the phone line, you should normally be using a *COMBINED* "Router & ADSL Modem".

The reason for this is that "Cable/DSL" routers only support PPPoE protocol whereas DSL (ADSL) in the UK uses PPPoA protocol which the combined devices do support.

I believe there is actually D-Link hardware that can be made to work with separate Modem and Router, but the Router may also have to be D-Link and you'll save yourself a lot of grief by getting a proper "ADSL Modem/Router".

ambra4 03:18 03 Jul 2007

Lorns

“Realtek RTL8139 Family PCI Fast Ethernet NIC” is the make and model of the LAN network card in the PC

Also called a NIC card by some company in difference countries.

Is the model of your router BR6101 plus wireless access point if not let me know the model No.

Also required the Model No of the D-link modem

The type of router behind the Cable or ASDL MODEM does not matter.

I take it that you wired the router WAN port to the Ethernet port on the modem,

And hard wire the PC LAN card port-to-port 1 on router, if not change cable to Port1