How do I find my PC's configuration?

newbie49 18:10 27 Apr 2008

I'm a newbie, and not very techie savvy so please bear with me. I have Windows XP Home installed on my PC. Not had any problems until Friday when out of the blue the letters NTDLR is missing appeared when my PC booted up. No amount of pressing ctrl, alt, delete, helped got me anywhere so I bought a copy of Spotmau. It has got back all my documents - everything looks completely normal - but now, after booting up I get the message invalid boot ini loading from c:Windows. I went into msconfig and there doesn't seem to be a boot ini file anymore in the block that used to come up with System, start up etc. I contacted Spotmau and they have emailed me, saying, Can you tell me the hardware configuration and the file system of your computer (all the info about your computer would be best) How do I give them this - where do I find it?
Maggie

brundle 18:16 27 Apr 2008

If you have an XP CD it's easily fixed; click here

Fruit Bat /\0/\ 18:17 27 Apr 2008

NTLDR Missing click here

If you have FAT32 partitions, it is much simpler than with NTFS. Just boot with a Win98 floppy and copy the NTLDR or NTDETECT.COM files from the i386 directory to the root of the C:\ drive.

For NTFS:
Insert and boot from your Windows XP CD. At the first R=Repair option, press the R key Press the number that corresponds to the correct location for the installation of Windows you want to repair. Typically this will be #1 Enter in the administrator password when requested Enter in the following commands (X: is replaced by the actual drive letter that is assigned to the CD ROM drive) COPY X:\i386\NTLDR C\: COPY X:\i386\NTDETECT.COM C:\ Take out the CD ROM and type exit

Invalid Boot.ini click here

Switcher 18:34 27 Apr 2008

^

newbie49 18:57 27 Apr 2008

I'm afraid I don't have one. My PC came preloaded with Windows XP when I bought it. All I have is a recovery disk which I believe would wipe everything if I used it - yes?
Maggie