A host for my site

Ben Avery 22:25 11 Nov 2003

G'day

Those who have already been involved in helping me out with my site (click here) will know that the server provided by Angeltowns is ok before 2pm in the UK but is far too slow once the US tend to go online more heavily (in fact a friend of mine in Oklahoma who is on a 2MB connection had to wait for quite some time for my 60kb homepage to load up!).

This has led to the obvious solution - forget the freebies and go for a proper paid host. My requirements are below but I've seen this which seems like a pretty good deal to me? click here I'm pretty new to it all though so forgive me if I'm presuming wrongly but has anyone had experience with this hosting service before? Will it do me?

My site will specifically be used to download small files ranging from 10kb to 4MB on a pretty regular basis (the more people it interests who know about it the more it will be used and the number of users could well be pretty high in the months to come).

***********************REQUIREMENTS********************

* About 50MB of web space.

* A domain name would be nice!

* Enough bandwidth to cover the peak periods of downloads.

* A relatively fast download trime for my pages which are around 60kb with images.

Many people here reccomend oneandone and the FE's favorite (the name escapes me - about 5 letters, strange word???) but for my simple price range (as low as possible) oneandone appear to only house 8 pages(?) which I have more than, and I found the other site more confusing as I couldn't seem to see what it offered. It also seems more expensive?

Please help me decifer what this all means!!!

What do I need???

BA

barryoneoff.co.uk 22:54 11 Nov 2003

allows you unlimited pages (within the allotted bandwidth), I have over 150 on my site.

The 8 pages you refer to is if you use the online web designer.

Ben Avery 23:56 11 Nov 2003

I thought it sounded strange only allowing 8 pages!