Home networking – advice/training needed.

Drpeter 10:08 08 Aug 2009

Although I am not new to computers, I am new to this subject and need help/guide.
My main computer running XP Pro SP3 is connected to the router (Orange Livebox) by ethernet cable. My Laptop running XP Home SP3 is wirelessly connected to the same router – both work well.
I thought I had set up a LAN: the laptop shows:-
“Local Area Connection LAN or high speed inter… Network Cable unplugged Marvel Yukon…
Wireless network connection LAN or high speed inter… Connected Atheros…”
My main computer shows:-
“Microsoft Windows Network, then gives the name of the network I set up in a subfolder, then my name in another subfolder, Printers and Faxes and Scheduled Tasks in yet another subfolder”

Firstly, I doubt whether this is a workable network – what do I do next?
When I have a workable network, how do I transfer files and how do I print from the laptop, on the printer attached to the main computer? Pointing me to a suitable guide would be useful.
Many thanks for the usual expert help I always receive from this forum!!
Peter

howard64 10:46 08 Aug 2009

you need to set sharing on virtually every folder you intend to use. Then make sure you have something [any file] in the sharing folder. You must also ensure that each pc/laptop is on the same workgroup. The biggest problem normally is the firewall on each pc. I normally set the IP address of each other pc as trusted in the firewall on the other pc. Once done you should be able to see the other pc/laptop by double clicking network places - workgroup - mshome.

wotbus@ 13:40 08 Aug 2009

Another tip. Each computer on the network must have a different name EG PC1, PC2, PC3 etc. They can't all becalled Eric :-)

Technotiger 14:25 08 Aug 2009
  Drpeter 09:01 09 Aug 2009

It is now quite clear that I do NOT yet have a working network.