Home Network lab set-up

bb2009 13:09 25 Aug 2008

Hello, I will soon be starting to study for my MCSE & CCNA and I am trying to create a small home network to practice on. I have some knowledge of the fundamentals of TCP/IP but I am stuck already. Please could someone point me in the right direction for answers on the following problem

Setup

Router 1 : Netgear home router (internet access)

Switch : Netgear 8 port gigabyte switch

Server 1 : Windows 2003 Enterprise

192.168.0.5 (ip address reserved on the above router)

Client 1 : Windows XP SP1

END

Server 1 - DHCP enabled and DNS set-up

PROBLEM

I cannot join Client 1 to my Domain london.co.uk.local on Server 1 (DNS) - I get a domain controller could not be contacted

I cannot even ping Server 1 from Client 1 or vice-versa. They can both ping the Router

All NIC speeds are set to 100 full.

Please could someone comment and help. I can see this being the start of a long journey it is pretty good fun though

Cheers

Benjamin

brundle 15:39 25 Aug 2008

Can you see the other machine if you do an

arp -a

?

Are you using the server for DHCP or the router?

ambra4 15:43 25 Aug 2008

Set all NIC speeds to Auto

Turn off DHCP and DNS on the server if DHCP and DNS is Enable on the router

bb2009 10:28 26 Aug 2008

Morning, thanks for the advice...ok, so far

1. All NIC sppeds set to auto

2. All firewalls turned off on the clients, if I try to turn it off on the server it says : 'windows firewall cannot run because another program or service is running that might use the NAT component IPnat.sys

3.DHCP and DNS services on Server 1 have been stopped.

4. Arp-a produces just the ip address of the router

5. Client 1 cannot ping Client 2 or Server 1 and vice versa. i am pinging using IP. They can all ping the router

I deally I want to be able to have them all pinging each other and my DNS and DHCP back up and running on my Domain Controller so I can start practising