Help Please

  Embezzler 19:14 05 Apr 2003
Locked

I have a Dell machine and i've updated my OS to XP from ME. When i run Disk Cleanup i have an option to delete my old OS installation file which came pre installed on the Dell machine... should i do this? It says if i do i will not be albe to install ME again?! Well it actually says "You can remove them if you do not plan to install Windows 98/ME again"

So basically should i delete them and if i do will i be able to install ME without those files?

  VoG™ 19:16 05 Apr 2003

If you still have an ME disk then you would be able to reformat and install ME.

  he he :-)™ 19:28 05 Apr 2003

rethink your title

  Embezzler 19:34 05 Apr 2003

sorry about the title, i was in a hurry and just used the drop down menu

  barrie_g 19:37 05 Apr 2003

I cant see why you would want to go back to ME after using XP so unless you plan to do so it will be safe to delete the set up file

  AndySD 19:40 05 Apr 2003

As VoG™ says if you have the dell disks its not a problem to reinstall ME if you want to. The files this is talking about are the backup files made when you upgraded to XP.... all you will lose is the option in add/remove programs to revert back to ME.

  Embezzler 19:42 05 Apr 2003

Say if i had to format my comp... then what? I only have XP update disk.

  AndySD 19:44 05 Apr 2003

You would need to use the Dell Disk to reinstall ME then upgrade to XP again.

This thread is now locked and can not be replied to.

Elsewhere on IDG sites

WPA2 hack: How secure is your Wi-Fi?

Microsoft Surface Book 2 hands-on review – bigger and 5x faster

Best kids apps for iPhone & iPad

Que faire si son iPhone ou iPad est tombé dans de l'eau ?