Help needed with computer and net

JellyWoman 06:31 20 Dec 2009

Hi,

I'm not sure where to start as I have no computer knowledge but lots of problems.
I had my first virus two weeks ago but was already having problems with IE7 crashing.
I ran malware and something called a "rogue installer" was detected and removed. Since then i've been virus free , apparently.
IE8 keeps crashing , FF keeps crashing and my pc keeps down so i'm not sure what the exact problem is. It seems to be in the early hours of the morning so I've been wondering if it is AOL but I can always use their browser when IE/FF crash.

IE won't remember my settings like text size anymore (it's why I changed to IE8 in the first place) and i'm not sure what to do.

The computer seems slow and about a month ago I couldn't even use the task bar as it wouldn't appear so I think my computer has something wrong with. I run Vista and the machine was bought in May 07.

Any ideas?!

michaelw 08:30 20 Dec 2009

What security have you got, ie firewall and antivirus?

I'd suggest doing an online av scan at Trend Micro
which is free and thorough and will remove any nasties click here

mrwoowoo 10:07 20 Dec 2009

Have you given your PC a de-dusting since you got it.If not, as it's 2 1/2 years old it could be clogged up with dust and over heating causing it to crash and show all sorts of unusual behaviour. I assume that's what you mean when you say it goes down.
Clean off dust from the vents on the case and the PSU fan on the rear of the case. Also dust inside using a small new small paint brush. Pay particular attention to the fans.
If you use compressed air ( obtainable from PC shops/super markets) keep upright and don't use too close to delicate conponents.
click here

JellyWoman 05:57 21 Dec 2009

I run PC tools and Avast? It's just crashed again meaning I can't use IE , FF or MSN but going via AOL browser is fine. The weird thing is I can't shut IE down using the task bar , it won't respond.