HELP - Memory problem

djm2000 23:07 23 Mar 2007

Would someone be kind enough to help out a complete novice?

I've got an basic pc, manufactured by Cybercom (who?). It has a AMD Duron 1.3ghz processor.

It currently has 256mb of memory, which I wanted to upgrade. I looked at the details (DDR, 333mhz, PC2700, CL2.5) on the current memory card and purchased a 512mb version manufactured by Kingston.

I have 2 memory slots in my pc so left the existing 256mb mem stick in the one, and inserted the new stick into the other slot.

Problem is when I turn the PC on, the computer itself appears to switch on (makes all the right noises etc), but the monitor wont switch on, it just says "no input signal".

I've tried swithing the memory sticks around, and have tried using just the new one on it's own, but still no picture on the monitor. It's NOT a problem with the connection between the computer and the monitor because if I take the new memory out and revert back to using just the old 256mb stick the computer and monitor work fine.

The only other info I can give you is that the last time I put the new memory in (I've tried it loads of times this evening!) the computer also made a loud intermittent beeping noise when I switched it on (this didn't happen in any of my previous attemps tho.

Sorry for boring the @rse of you guys, who have probably much better things to do than worry about my crappy memory probs, but I really need this pc upgrading as I've just started my own business and am relying on it!!

Many thanks in advance,

Dave

SANTOS7 23:14 23 Mar 2007

assuming your graphics are not on-board..

While you where putting in your new memory you may well have moved your VGA card slightly, have a look there first making sure it is fitted securely..

FatboySlim71 23:14 23 Mar 2007