Help - Internet explorer connects on startup

boomer34 10:02 30 Mar 2009

I will try and explain my problems as best I can - please be gentle as I am still quite new to all this.

Dell Laptop with Windows XP
Ethernet cable to connect to Internet (BT provider)

I use two laptops, one work and one home.

When I log on using my own laptop, I enter my password to logon and as soon as I do the ethernet lights up on my modem and when the laptop starts up I am the automatically connected to the internet which I dont want. I prefer to enable/disable the access using the shortcut on my desktop.
Also when I disable the connection during my working session the ethernet light remains on. Infact it does so until I switch the laptop off again.

However

When I put my work laptop on using exaclty the same setup of cables and connections it does as I would like and when it starts the ethernet light does not come on nor does it connect to the internet until I enable the connection on my desktop and so I am in control of when it starts. Also if I chose to disable during my working session / connection the light goes off and on as I enable/disable.

The main aim I want is to be able to use my own computer without it automatially connecting to the internet. I have looked at many forums, have tried several suggestions (its not an entry in startup) all of which havent worked. Its not a life or death type problem, but its really doing my head in - any help much appreciated

birdface 10:09 30 Mar 2009

I suppose simply clicking work offline under file does not work.

bjh 10:27 30 Mar 2009

Is it as simple as I.E. > Tools > Connections
then select never dial a connection.

emily3543 11:03 30 Mar 2009

1) right click on desktop >> create shortcut >> now go on the location of your connection and make a shortcut on desktop

2)now right click on it and select it disable.

now when ever you want to connect right click on it and make it enable

rawprawn 11:03 30 Mar 2009