help help

cazzieb 20:36 22 Nov 2007

I'm new to trying to connect a router. I've followed the instructions to the letter, but at the end always get the message "no internet connection".(Belkin) I've downloaded the troublshooting self help guide this hasnt worked either. Has anyone any tips (in simle terms) for a beginner like me?. When I reconnect to the modem without the router everything is fine. Does this mean the modem and router are not communicating? I'm with virgin media
Cheers

mgmcc 08:56 23 Nov 2007

Are you using a "Cable/DSL" router in conjunction with Virgin Media's *CABLE* service?

I have several Cable/DSL routers of different makes and with each one, if I've run the Setup Wizard, the final check at the end to see if there is an internet connection has failed. Despite this, they have connected perfectly. If this is your problem, close the wizard and check if the router is actually working.

*IMPORTANT*
When swapping over the connection to the Cable Modem from the PC to the Router, the Cable Modem must be powered off and left without power for three or four minutes, so that it loses the association between the existing connection and the IP address it has allocated to it. It will then recognise a new connection and allocate a different IP address to it.

mikesuther 11:32 23 Nov 2007