help to get back online after windows 7upgrade

De Nada 12:53 05 Feb 2010

My wife decided to buy a laptop and connect via my pc router wirelessly,
it came with windows 7,so i upgraded from xp to windows 7 to help her with it,she is a complete novice,the upgrade went without any problems,i managed to get her laptop online before i upgraded to windows 7,but now my machine will not connect atall,i went to device manager and found three errors,multimedia controller,ethernet controller and pci simplecommunication,i can get online using the laptop,i cant find any manufacturers names to try and find drivers.could anyone please point me in the right direction,thanks very much.

JohnWilliams 13:36 05 Feb 2010

What is the make and model of the pc you are trying to get online?

De Nada 14:05 05 Feb 2010

my pc was bought for me by my son-in-law,that was put together by his mate. motherboard is,as-rock KS741,nvidia F5200.its roughly seven years old.

JohnWilliams 14:32 05 Feb 2010

Have a read of this, hopefully it'll be of help.

click here

retep888 15:02 05 Feb 2010

User Manual click here

Drivers click here
<pci simplecommunication(modem)= AMR driver>
<multimedia controller=C-Media AC97 audio driver>
<ethernet controller=SiS PCI Lan driver>

You have a skt462 CPU and your chipset is SiS741,
all the drivers are for XP only.You can try installing them,it might be ok(I'm not 100%sure).

If not you can buy a wired/wireless PCI ethernet card click here / click here or wireless USB adapter click here to get you online and update all drivers thru' windows update.

De Nada 16:01 05 Feb 2010

thanks very much, i do have a ethernet card installed on my pc,i went to the asrock site and downloaded the cm 97 audio but it will install,

De Nada 16:08 05 Feb 2010

sorry im flagging a bit now i downloaded the divers earlier,the pc will not load them.

retep888 17:19 05 Feb 2010

Try right click the downloaded file and use troubleshoot compatibility and install in XP mode.