Help with finding a new computer?

stroudgreen 09:42 08 Dec 2007

Hi, I've been using a Fujitsu-Siemens laptop for getting on to 3 years now and it's on it's last legs. I'm thinking of buying a new computer, but this time a desktop as I'd like to be able to play games. I've seen what looks like a good deal on MESH: click here

...But I've seen a fair amount of negative feedback on these pages concerning the company. Is it worth investigating CUBE247 as well?

Thanks!

MAJ 10:26 08 Dec 2007

Hell, I just love MESH computers, I love looking at them that is, but I don't trust them (the computers, not the company). I've seen too many late delivery, problem, things not working, threads to direct my money their way. Maybe if they had a local outlet round my way, things would be different, but they don't. Davey (from Mesh) on the Comsumerwatch forum does his best to remedy any problems that do arise and he succeeds. I'll stick with my HP Compaqs bought from local outlets, they have never let me down.

But that is a nicely specced PC you linked to, stroudgreen. Sorry can't advise you on how good it would be at games, I'm a devout non-gamer.

Ex plorer 10:40 08 Dec 2007

Hi I bought two PCs from cube I had a problem with the monitor in the first week, after a phone call to cube and one other to the monitor distributor it was replaced next day, that was five years ago.
On that basis I can recommend them, Cube will tell you what you need for gaming give them a ring or email them.

The Belarussian Mafia 13:11 08 Dec 2007

This little chappie might be OK for a bit of gaming (NVidia 8600 128Mb card) click here

£529 delivered seems reasonable - includes 2Mb RAM. Prices are always good on ebuyer too click here

Starfox 14:01 08 Dec 2007

These guys seem to be highly thought of in the forums.click here

Interesting thread at click here

nyleridedog 14:07 08 Dec 2007