Help in becoming a laptop/pc repairer

ianmorris1977 13:14 14 May 2007

Hi guys i'm just starting out and learning to fix laptops e.t.c. Ive got hold of a load of manuals e.t.c.
i really want to know how to run diagnostics on any laptop or is there software i can get which will help me ascertain what the problem is before i attempt to fix it.

I'm going to start buying spare & repair laptops and fix them first and resell them to learn the trade before i unleash myself into my local market. Any advise you all have would be really welcome

RobCharles1981 13:18 14 May 2007
  2neat 15:47 14 May 2007

I take it this is just a hobby & you arn't hoping to make a living from it!

Good luck

ianmorris1977 15:56 14 May 2007

Well initially just a hobby but will be looking to earn a nice residual income eventually

Pamy 16:02 14 May 2007

Do you have any experience repairing laptops now, without any diagnostic software.If not you will find it very hard.

ianmorris1977 16:23 14 May 2007

have some experience in the area just looking for some software to aid me really. Taking apart a laptop is relatively easy.

Pamy 16:39 14 May 2007

A lot can be found out with a multimeter to start with, but you must have some electronics knowledge. I speak from my brothers electronic dealings when he has repared motherboards etc.

Totally-braindead 18:37 14 May 2007

ianmorris1977 taking a laptop apart may for you be rather easy but not so for me, and putting them together again can be a nightmare.
I really wish you luck. I've fixed hundreds of PCs and built a few as well but only ever one laptop and after that I swore never again.

laurie53 20:50 14 May 2007

All I ever found out with a multimeter on microprocessor devices is how easy it is to blow them!

Laurie

woodchip 21:05 14 May 2007