HELP!! annoying problem

joaniem1947 18:30 25 Mar 2008

can anyone tell me why i have to press f1 button to get to my windows page please

jimv7 18:57 25 Mar 2008

With some motherboards, if shut down incorrectly require pressing F1 to continue, to protect the cpu, by reducing its speed.

Also by adding another boot device such as an external hard drive or memory stick.

This can also be caused by the cmos battery being run down or faulty.

joaniem1947 22:46 25 Mar 2008

CHEERS FOR YOUR ANSWER ,I HAVE NO CMOS BATTERY APPARENTLY,BUT I DID HAVE MY SOME THING DONE TO UPGRADE THE MEMORY ,AS I AM A NOVICE I DONT REALLY KNOW ALL THE TERMINOLOGY, IS THERE ANY WAY I CAN FIX MY PROBLEM ?

wee eddie 13:09 26 Mar 2008

There will be a CMOS Battery in the MOBO.

It's one of those little Silver ones, about 3/4" across.

Go to YouTube and search for "change CMOS Battery" you should get several clips about how to do the job.

You should check (and write down) the CMOS Settings before you start, so that you can check them after the new battery is installed, in case any have altered while there was no battery in.

DieSse 13:17 26 Mar 2008

Can you give us the exact and full message please.

Normally it will say

"xxxx xxxxx xxxxx"

"Press F1 to continue"

The xxxxx part will hopefully give a clue as to what's going on.

joaniem1947 13:45 26 Mar 2008

the screen says floppy disc fail(40)my pc is a zoostorm i dont know what you mean by os i`m a complete novice

VoG II 13:48 26 Mar 2008

It sounds like it is set with the floppy as the first boot drive. Have you left a floppy disk on the drive?

DieSse 14:01 26 Mar 2008

Floppy Disc Fail means the floppy disk drive is not working correctly.

Is there a floppy disk drive in the computer?

It may have failed

The cables on it may be loose.

Is this a new computer?

has the computer been moved recently?

joaniem1947 14:02 26 Mar 2008