help!

sansick 11:26 24 May 2010

I am relatively new to laptops and don't know a huge amount about them except the rudimentaries.

I am looking to buy one that I can record live music on (i am a musician), store photos (and use photoshop) and use word processor etc. I don't play computer games.

I've been told buy a friend that I need
-a dual processor
-at least 4GB of memory
-ideally 7,200 rpm hard drive speed
-at least 2 USB ports
-a sound card
-one that's affordable! could fork out £1,000 if it's worth it.

I've been trawling the net to try and find a suitable one and keep reading horror stories of them breaking down after a week of purchase etc. - have finally plumped for Dell Studio XPS 16? any good? any suggestions? all advice very much appreciated.

mooly 17:38 24 May 2010

The secret with laptops is treat them with respect... don't yank the lid open at the corner and break the hinges, don't wrestle the power plug into and out of the socket etc etc.

Can't comment on the Dell, I have an Acer, it's been ace, 3.5 years old, several hours use a day.

Your specs are fine, virtually any modern laptop will do what you ask, but... musician... for sound recording I would perhaps look at one of the portable (or full size) digital recorders that record onto flash memory (SD cards etc). You can then just pop the card into the laptop to transfer and copy the files, just as with a camera and piccys.

This kind of thing, all sorts of models available,
click here From This Range&MER=e-bb45-00001003

Oh yes... invest in a good backup program (Acronis) and use a decent security package that doesn't hit resources too much. MSE is excellent,
click here

civicr 17:40 24 May 2010

Ebuyer.co.uk have a acer for about 400.00 but if you are prepared to fork out a thousand pound then there is only one thing to do and thats buy a mac book pro for around 800.00 . These may be lower spec but are built for music and video. All the pros use them.
Ebuyer should stock them
civicr