Hello, i am new here....

Joalaneil 23:47 10 Jan 2006

Hi, i am a self taught internet fanatic, and still have lots to learn, that is why when i came across this forum, i had to join, it is perfect for me to be able to be in touch with people who know more than i do, but considering i am self taught i am proud of what i have achieved so far.
One thing i would like advice on is Spyware, which ones are 100% free, and the best?

Look forward to a response

Joalaneil

PaulB2005 23:52 10 Jan 2006

Hi

AdAware click here
SpyBot S&D click here
SpywareBlaster click here

and for XP only

MS AntiSpyware click here

Don't forget your anti virus too...

AVG - click here

Joalaneil 00:06 11 Jan 2006

Those are marvellous, and i will look into them more closely tomorrow, but i favour the MS Anti-Spyware one.

I am also changing from Norton anti-virus + Firewall to the Avg+Firewall pro edition, as this one is the only one to offer two years of free updates.
I use a Yahoo pop up blocker, and i am very happy with that.

I have been computer literate now for almost 5 years, and it is a real eye opening experience, i do not think i could manage without one now.

Take Care and thanks
Joalaneil

PaulB2005 00:12 11 Jan 2006

You can get the Free AVG and use ZoneAlarm Free click here too.

All the programs i listed above will work together just fine.

Especially use the SpywareBlaster as it blocks the stuff from getting in rather than scanning for it once infected.

wolfie3000 04:47 11 Jan 2006

Hi Joalaneil welcome to the forums.

one program i would reccomend is ccleaner

click here

It cleans out all the junk from your pc stuff you dont need anymore.

iscanut 08:26 11 Jan 2006

I use the AVG AV & Firewall with 2 year support and updates. It works very well and I am very happy with it.

GANDALF <|:-)> 08:37 11 Jan 2006

There is no need for a home user to pay for AV or firewall protection.