Heat sink and cooling fan problems

previadude 09:53 17 Sep 2008

Hi I wonder if anyone can help me?

I have a Packard Bell PC I believe it has the Sunshine motherboard as shown here click here

Now the point to my post...it says I should have a heatsink and fan for a LGA 775 socket but I believe I have a 448 socket heatsink and fan! It is a square fan with a green locking handle but the arm on one side has snapped and if I lock it into place the PC will not get past the initial start, so I am looking at replacing the fan and heatsink.
Will I be able to purchase a LGA 775 socket heatsink etc and just do a straight swap.
I am fairly new to PC hardware and the computer was not bought new so if you need any more info I will try my best.

I am not sure if link will work but this is the fan I have fitted at the moment
click here

Fruit Bat /\0/\ 10:08 17 Sep 2008

click here LGA775

448?
any one of these click here= ?

previadude 10:16 17 Sep 2008

Thanks for the links, but does it matter which socket model I buy? Motherboard says LGA 775 yet I think the fan I have is a 448 socket? Is it a straightforward swap and will it solve the problem of the PC not booting when the fan and heatsink is locked in place or do I have a further problem?

I am Spartacus 10:39 17 Sep 2008

A normal socket 775 cooler should fit. This is probably one of the best value, high performance air coolers at the moment click here|39%3A1|66%3A2|65%3A12|240%3A1318&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14 Ignore the high postage, the total cost is still cheaper than other places that have it in stock.

It uses the Intel Pushpin mountings so you need to be sure they all click firmly into place. You may need to remove your motherboard to remove the existing mechanism as it sounds as though you have an unusual (for a socket 775) type mounting.

If you do need to remove the motherboard then I would recommend getting this thermalright bolt thru kit to provide a firmer mounting click here