Hard drive replaced - now no monitor input

technovice 12:26 10 Dec 2007

PSU and hard disk drive went on my daughters old E machine - have followed advice on this site and replaced both. Computer now starts - but does not appear to be any output to the monitor, or power to DVD/CD drive. Have checked wires, but nothing obviously wrong. As soon as the computer is plugged in, it starts and appears to override the on/off switch on the front of the machine,(not the psu).

I am a complete novice with the internal workings of computers, and am surprised how easy things were.....so far!!!! Any advice before I call in and pay for a expert!!!!

Many thanks

[email protected] 13:18 10 Dec 2007

Sounds like you haven't installed the relative drivers. You may required your motherboard software disc and your monitor software disc.

jimv7 13:22 10 Dec 2007

If a graphic card and not onboard graphics, check you have not dislodged the card, try reseating it.

keef66 13:40 10 Dec 2007

lack of drivers shouldn't result in no display at all, just a rubbish one using Windows defaults.

Can you post a link to your previous thread so I can see what you've done so far?

Just out of curiosity, can you tun it off again using the switch on the front of the case (hold it in for 15 seconds), or is it completely useless now?

technovice 13:54 10 Dec 2007

I have all the relevant disks but cannot install them as no display on the monitor, and cannot open the CD drive as does not appear to be any power there!

All I have done so far is replace the PSU and the hard drive.

I have just held teh power button in for 15 seconds - nothing additional happens. Monitor still says no input.

If it makes any difference, the hard disk light and power light on the front of the machine are constantly flashing

[email protected] 13:54 10 Dec 2007