Hard drive recovery

Wrinkles 13:32 20 Feb 2008

I have a dead computer to revive, and all is well except for the hard drive which was the C: drive running xp Home. It was to have become the D: as it contains a large selection of un-backed up Photos.
I have no knowledge of what happened to this machine except that PSU, MoBo and Graphics cards were fried.
Anyway on connecting the D; drive the PC doesn't see it. So it was changed to C; and an XP repair install attempted. No success. although the console did see the disk and it's contents but would not copy them.
Further fiddling and I found that the Drive is now Fat32 when it was NTFS, I managed to get some of the photos off but which ever recovery tool I use none 'sees' the whole drive.
As this is not My PC, the owner is skint I am not inclined to Buy a recovery tool that may or may not do the job. I am open to suggestions on my next step. Anyone know of a Good data recovery tool that is freeware or has a decent fully functioning demo period.

rossgolf 13:40 20 Feb 2008

if you have another computer to connect it to. try buying a 3.5" drive caddy from somewhere like amazon. connect that and transfer the files.

Wrinkles 13:52 20 Feb 2008

I have tried connecting it to another PC but whatever it's connected to doesn't read the drive. Only recovery tools, some see it, then only some files. I currently have it connected to a Win2000 machine that has a large, almost empty Drive that any recovered files can be copied to. This machine sees the drive in Bios, in windows it sees it as unformatted and offers to format it. I have tried 4 different data recovery progs all with varying degrees of success. None doing the whole job.
I am tempted to format or scrap the drive but in truth I quite like the challenge of recovering "lost" data. (And I get brownie points from er indoors for getting back her friends photos. always useful)

xania 14:50 20 Feb 2008