Hard Drive Paranoia

  killiepie 13:23 25 Nov 2008
Locked

Hi.I have recently purchased a second hand PC. The dealer has advised me that the hard drive has been returned to "factory setting". Does this mean all information previously on the drive has been cleared? Alternatively can info still be lurking on the drive I am thinking personal/finanacial/porn.

Thanks

  Clapton is God 13:31 25 Nov 2008

It means exactly what is says.

The H/D is in the state it was at the moment it left the factory and there will be none of the previous user's personal info on it.

  Pineman100 18:52 25 Nov 2008

As CiG says, the disk should be clean.

But if you're still not 100% comfortable about it, why not run a secure erase on it yourself, with this free software?

click here

This thread is now locked and can not be replied to.

Elsewhere on IDG sites

OnePlus 5 review

Alice Saey's mesmerising animation for Dutch singer Mark Lotterman

iPad Pro 10.5in (2017) review

Comment booster votre iPhone ?