Hard disk sector invalid message

jonah99 14:56 01 Feb 2010

Hi Guys

Firstly I am apologising that this is so long but I was not sure what info you needed. SORRY (Can you tell I am new to this)

I purchased an EI system laptop (4431) from pc world a few years ago with a 5 year warranty. During the time i had it i had to have 2 hard drives and 3 2 cd/dvd drives. So when it started running really slow even after I restored to factory settings I bought a new dell from pc world and let the warranty lapse on the other. Then a friend of mine wanted to learn computing and I said she could do this on my old one. I started up the machine and it worked ok but slow. I had some pictures on there I didn't want to lose and wanted to put them on a disk but my disk drive was playing up again so another friend of mine told me to disable my internal cd drive and use my external drive. I did this and when I switched the machine on it came up with the following message HARD DISK BOOT SECTOR INVALID - PRESS H TO RETRY HARD DISK, ANY OTHER KEY FOR FLOPPY

I knew something was wrong as it was ok before I disabled the CD drive or was that just a coincidence. I decided the best thing to do was a full system recovery. However when I did that it would only go so far and then come up with PROBLEM IN EXTRACTING PROCESS: FILE WINDOWS\ING\MDMZYXEL.ING, I pressed and it would go a bit further and come up with another file that it could not extract. Eventually it took me bask to the original error screen. I tried again this time it didn't even enter the recovery mode it just came up with tstsetup.sif is corrupt or missing status 32768, I tried again and it did the same but with different files this time. The next time i tried it it went back to the recovery mode and did the same as before. It seems to alternate between these two problems.