Graphics card advice

smy13 17:29 03 Sep 2007

Hi All
At present my PC runs a ATI Radeon 9100 IGP I've been thinking of upgrading this for a bit now and have noticed there are quite a few 256MB AGP cards about now for around £35.00.
So the question is is this worth doing and are there any pit falls I should look out for.
I do a lot of video editing so I thought getting a better graphics solution might make things a bit easier.
've done a bit of poking around such as fitting HDD's, Firewire cards, wireless card, and sticks of memory, so I'm not a complete novice but any advice would be gratefully received

holme 17:46 03 Sep 2007

"I do a lot of video editing so I thought getting a better graphics solution might make things a bit easier."

The effect of the graphics card on video editing was discussed at length recently and the concensus seems to be that it makes little or no difference, confirmed by timed tests by those nice people at Holme...

See click here

For video editing, the processor's oooomph, plus /lots/ of RAM, make the most difference.

IMHO your current card is perfectly OK for vid. editing; suggest put the brass towards more RAM.

Duo or Quad processors add to the ooomph /only/ if your editing software is written to take advantage of them. (We use ULead's VideoStudio, and that is).

smy13 17:58 03 Sep 2007

Thanks for that, I think I'm RAM'ed out for XP at 2 GB And can't justify the price of upgrading My processor at the mo It's at 2.5GHZ P4. So I think I'll save my Dosh as I'm not a gamer. thanks for the info

Totally-braindead 17:59 03 Sep 2007

I have to agree with holme memory and the processor are the hardest workers, its unlikely a more powerful graphics card will do anything at all for you on editing. More memory (depending on what you have of course) would be a better option.