graphic card + power supply

Meuli 19:34 21 Mar 2008

hi all,

i'm getting really fed up with my lame ati radeon x550 card. It random freeses in games, even at low settings...
So i was thinking about buying a new card. After looking around somewhat i came up with the conclusion that i like the asus geforce 8800 gt 512 mb.
But i was wondering.
I never installed any hardware... so i'm a complete noob here...
I looked some stuff up and it seems pretty basic, get the old one out and get the new one in.
Then i saw the new one would need power. I checked out the power cables and saw i had 2 plugs that come from my psu, one that also goes to my dvd rw and one that also goes to my hd and diskette.
Do i just plug it in, or do i need to take care of some things? Do i need to change anything in the bios?
Another thing is my psu itself. I seem to have a 400w. Don't now jack about that, from what i have been reading, that's low. Do i need to upgrade that, if so what suggestions would you make?
And how the hell do you replace a psu? Same remarks here, do you just get the old one out, new one in, or anything special? Any Bios settings and stuff?

Many thanks in advance for any help on this subject.

Kind regards

Meuli

donki 21:07 21 Mar 2008

Its easy peasy old card out new card in, I think the 8800gt needs 2 power leads, i gave a 8800gts which needs 2. They are little square connectors so you can't plug the wrong ones in.

Your 400watt PSU could be a problem, depending if its a good quality. What other USB devices do you have because they all use power from your PSU. You dont want to overload your PSU as id could go pop!! Its hard to say but you don't really wanna take the risk. There is an alarm on GFX cards which sounds if there is a lack of power, its a high pitch squeling.

Another thing whats the rest of your computer spec?

Meuli 21:24 21 Mar 2008

well i use a p4 cpu 3.2 ghz
1 gig of ram
asus motherboard
dvd rw
usb: canon printer wich is default off