Good web-design software?

simon_lambert 19:21 11 Feb 2007

I have MS Front Page (2003), but i'm not sure how it compares to others on the market. Are there any better ones out there? (Please bear in mind I am a student on VERY limited funds, so free ones are useful) , Thanks

adamcoppard 19:30 11 Feb 2007

ur Evrsoft 2006. Top Stlye Lite, Nvu, Notepad 2 (seriourlsy) HTML-Kit. Paint.net or Artweaver. Thats all your tools apart from Firefox, Opera or Swift

steve263000 09:13 12 Feb 2007

I have Front page 2003, and I have tried others and gone back to that time and again. Without doubt it is amongst the best in the business.

Z1100 00:41 13 Feb 2007

And what features are on your must have list?

Hanx!
K.

HighTower 13:09 13 Feb 2007

I've heard that Web Expression only supports Microsoft server technology so it would be difficult to develop in PHP / mySQL though you would be fine for normal HTML and ASP / .net etc.

If this is incorrect I'm sure a forum member will put me straight!

rotormota 19:20 13 Feb 2007

I have used Serif WebPlus 9 & now 10 to create & maintain my websites. Here's one: click here

HighTower 23:56 13 Feb 2007

Unfortunately I may be right (not often I say that!). Here's a quote from a well known Web Mag:

"As you'd expect, Expression Web loves ASP.NET, but it doesn't support alternatives such as PHP or JSP. Microsoft may have got the message about CSS and standards, but it's focus on its own platform at the expense of others suggests that old habits die hard."

.net magazine, March 07

My apologies also if this is off topic, though it is relevant to the question of choosing a web development tool, and if it is true then it's a massive oversight on behalf of Microsoft!

Trance-Addict 02:09 28 Feb 2007

Use MS Notepad...

Its free, more fun, and you get a great sense of achievement when the site is completed!

IClaudio 22:35 28 Feb 2007