Good signal within house but unable to connect.

Nixie1985 20:19 24 Jul 2006

Ive recntly connected my PC to a wireless network where mine is the main computer, and I have attempted to connect other computers to the network and they register that a network is there and the signal is good but they then say "limited or no connectivity". What do I do? Im very new to computers. Thank you

mgmcc 20:41 24 Jul 2006

Have you actually "Connected" to the wireless network? In other words, have you run the wireless adapter's software, scanned for "Available Wireless Networks", found and highlighted the one that matches your router's SSID (network name) and selected the option to "Connect" to it? Once "Connected", the wireless adapter should get its IP address by DHCP from the router and you should have network and internet access.

There is a difference between the Wireless Network Adapter and Router communicating with a good signal and "Connecting" (as in "logging in") to your Wireless network.

The "Limited or No Connectivity" indication means that the adapter hasn't been able to get its IP address from the router. Windows has allocated a default "169.254" address which won't let you access the router and get online. "Connecting", as above should resolve this.

Nixie1985 23:00 25 Jul 2006

Ive gone through the connection again and did what you said but it is still coming up no connectivity.

The IPS address is the windows default one and does not change.

ade.h 23:14 25 Jul 2006

Don't think of a routed network - wireless or otherwise - as having a "main" client; all clients are totally equal.

What do you mean by "The IPS [IP] address is the windows default one and does not change"? Windows doesn't have an IP of its own.

I think we need to be looking at DHCP - namely, whether the router's DHCP server is functioning and whether the problem clients have their DHCP service - and certain other network-related services - running.

Nixie1985 23:23 25 Jul 2006