Good pc build?

thesaud 18:35 16 Mar 2015

Hi My local PC store is offering this build for £559 ($816) Just wondering what you think and if its any good

Intel core i7 4770 (Haswell)- 3.5Ghz Quad Core, 8mb cache, Socket 1150 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz RAM 1TB hard disk drive- SATA 24X DVD+/- Rewriter, Dual layer NVIDIA Geforce GTX750, 1GB. Direct x 11, on board sound, lan, 6x USB 2.0 ports

Im new to this whole PC business and im just wondering whether that is a good build for the price, i intend to game with it so is it a good gaming PC or should i look elsewhere

Ian in Northampton 19:45 16 Mar 2015

'Gaming' covers a huge range of possibilities. The i7 is a good processor (possibly overkill - many gamers find the i5 good enough) and the GTX750 is decent mid-range graphics card that will give you a reasonably good experience on most modern games. Does that price include the operating system? I'm assuming yes. Compare it with this: I know nothing about the seller, and it doesn't include the operating system, and the processor isn't as good as the i7 (but probably good enough) - but it's considerably cheaper. That said, it's worth paying something of a premium for llocal support in the vent things go wrong. I've bought from ViBox and been very satisfied - again, no operating system, but a very decent processor, and quite a bit cheaper. This is refurbished, but it's a Dell - and it does include W7. (I find Dells harder to upgrade, though, than regular custom-built systems.) In summary: it's a reasonably good PC, will give you a pretty good gaming experience, and, if it includes the operating system, you may feel more comfortable buying from a local company. But: you can buy cheaper - or better for the money.

thesaud 19:54 16 Mar 2015