Going Wireless, what security are need

skan 18:36 10 Dec 2006

Hi,

I have decide to set up wireless network at home.
I am on Telewest broadband & they supplied a Modem. I decided to buy the Linksys WRT 54GS router,the USB network adapter WUSB54GS and Wireless printserver WPS54GU2.
With wireless on the laptop and if necessary use the WPC54GS.

Now if I am to install all these myself, I am a bit of a complete Novice to IT and not very good at all these jargon too. Please provide step by step guidance.

(Q1) Could anyone advice what else do I have to look out for or prepare before embarking on this exercise?

(Q2) What security system I should have to ensure that my computer and system is not being at risk?

(Q3) Could you provide step by step guidance to prepare & install?

(Q4) There are so many talk out there of unsafe/unsecure wireless system and there are so many antivirus software too but which one and what to protect my system?

Thanks

VoG II 20:50 10 Dec 2006

I'm not an expert in this but basically all of your questions on set-up should be answered in the documentation that comes with the hardware that you are planning to buy.

Regarding security, you will need to secure your network using e.g a WEP key - the documentation will explain this.

Which anti-virus do you have currently?

rodriguez 22:51 10 Dec 2006

My set up is similar, but not identical to yours (I plugged my wireless router into an ADSL modem instead of cable, but it should work similar) - also the process was pretty much automatic. Also my router is different to yours, but the configuration process should be similar.