GFX Card Recommendation for Antique machine

Mr_Hill 21:26 15 Dec 2014

Hello

I come seeking advice, I am a novice in the world of "CHOOSING" PC upgrades but I am usually competent to install and fix teehee

First things first, I can not afford a new PC hence why I am looking to replace my failing GFX card to prolong a bit of life into this old box - I only play WoW and browse the net with it.

Dell Inspiron 530s

Intel Core 2 Duo CPU E8500 @ 3.16ghz

LGA775 Socket

4 GB Ram (Self upgraded)

2 HDD - 1 CD/DVD Drive

ATI Radeon HD 2400 Pro 256mb (Sounds like a garden strimmer and is overheating)

A friend of mine ran some wattage calculators and that's where I got lost and need help! He also mentioned a HD6670 Graphics card - unsure if 1GB or 2GB. Also talk of getting a Corsair 500W builder series PSU but if I can get away with a GFX card alone - even better!

At the end of the day as I said above, all I play is WoW which unfortunately is on the lowest possible settings since the latest expansion. So any small upgrade would be a mercy!

Willing to respond to any questions that may help!

Thank you :)

rtp8™ 01:29 16 Dec 2014

I believe your Dell Inspiron 530s has a 300-350W PSU so recommend this GT 620 which doesn't need extra power connection.

Mr_Hill 20:49 16 Dec 2014

rtp8 thank you kindly for the response, could I ask for the purpose of educating myself how you came to derive my needs and choose the particular recommendation?

My PSU is BESTEC TFX0250P5W - Showing max power being 250W. Opened up the box this evening to double check

Thanks

rtp8™ 01:57 17 Dec 2014

So you have the slimline 530s (should have noticed the "s") which has the custom made 250W PSU, you can't put a standard 500W Corsair in there , it won't fit I'm afraid.

The GT620 should work because it's low profile & only draws 75W from the motherboard PCI-e slot and no additional power connection needed.

Mr_Hill 15:34 19 Dec 2014

I have just purchased a: