games windows 95/98 can u play on windows xp

big bloke66 17:11 27 Nov 2004

im very new to playing games on a pc.i just wondered if it was possible to play games that are windows 95 98 etc on windows xp home edition cheers anyone

ACOLYTE 17:13 27 Nov 2004

Some you can some you cant,some wprk with 98/95 compatability mode depends on the game i think.

Totally-braindead 19:12 27 Nov 2004

It does depend on the game, some just will not run at all, some have patches which you download from the internet and together with running in compatabilty mode you can get to run perfectly. As an example at the moment I'm replaying the original Command and Conquer game which I've patched and am running in compatabilty for Win 98. If you mention the game you want to play someone will probably be able to tell you whether it will run or not under XP.

QuickHare 19:29 27 Nov 2004

Sadly, playing games on the PC is not as easy as playing on a games console. Before playing, you'll need to install the game. This can be done easily by following the instructions in the manual or onscreen.

For which games work, the all above are true. But remember your rights in the shop. You can happily ask whether it will run on Windows XP Home before purchase, then refuse if it doesn't. They are then under obligation to only sell you a game if it will work on the computer you specify (namely a Windows XP Home machine).

If they say it will work, ask if you need to do anything special to the computer, like Compatibility Mode. Some games will step you through this at the installation.

But, as Totally-braindead said, we'll be happy to say whether the game you want will work, but we cannot always guarantee it as we do not know the other specifications of your machine.

Remember you need at least what it recommends on the packaging.

Totally-braindead 19:47 27 Nov 2004