Gaining access to 'blocked' computers

Florio 17:20 29 Oct 2007

I work as a CEL (collaboratore ed esperto linguistico) at an Italian university. As of this week, I'm having to conduct lessons in a language lab fitted out with various computers, all of which run Windows 2000. The problem is that many of the computers have been 'sabotaged' by students and, once Windows opens, no one else can get past the password protection. Basically the computers, once turned on, require a user name and password. Is there any way to remove the password protection without having to get into the Control Panel and the Administrator (or User) accounts? Today I had a very large class, and only about 10 computers were able to be used.

Pamy 17:42 29 Oct 2007

Go to the IT department

Diversion 18:24 29 Oct 2007

I found this program very useful when my son-in-law passed away quite unexpectedly. click here

Fruit Bat /\0/\ 18:51 29 Oct 2007

Windows2k/XP
Try this:

1- boot to the windows xp/2000 CD ,

2- press enter to start setup ,

3- press F8 for the license agreement ,

4- when you get the option to repair the current installation press R to do so ,

5- let it run through and for windows XP wait until it reboots and is installing, devices then

press shift F10 to open a command prompt. For windows 2000 wait until it is registering

components then press shift F10 to open a command prompt. ,

6- In windows XP either type in "nusrmgr.cpl" w/o quotation marks at the command prompt and press enter. For windows 2000 type in "control.exe" w/o quotation marks and press enter. This should open up the user accounts applet in XP and the regular control panel in 2000. ,

7- select the users and change or remove their passwords accordingly, apply settings and close the control panel windows and command prompt windows so that just setup is running again. ,

8- let the inplace upgrade finish.