Formatting HDD

Chelonian 12:04 01 Feb 2005

Thanks to everybody who gave advice on why my 4.3GB HDD appears to be full even though all it contains is Windows ME, Word 2002, and 12MB of .doc files.

I tried ScanDisk (no problems), Defrag (that was okay), and SystemRestore (it says it can't do one) but the problem remains.

Even saving small .doc files seems to use an extraordinary amount of HDD space.

The PC isn't connected to the internet.

As I have the OS installation disk and the drivers for graphic card and printer I'm considering formatting the HDD and reinstalling Windows ME and Word 2002 from scratch.

Is formatting a HDD difficult? I'm a novice at this stuff. Thanks!

mattyc_92 12:10 01 Feb 2005

No it isn't difficult....

I am not sure if the ME disk is bootable, but there is a way to format using a Win98 Format disk... But I have a fealing it is (it was made around the time Win2k was made and that is bootable)..

Insert the disk into the drive and restart the system.... If it is bootable, you will see a message "press any key to boot from cd" when you see the message press any key....

Now you will see the Windows Setup being loaded from the CD....

Follow the on-screen instructions and you will be fine (winXP installation you have to press "enter->F8->d->L->enter->enter" to format and install windows, this should be the same for your version because it is the same for Win2k)

Zaphod Beeblebrox 12:32 01 Feb 2005