Format or Delete?

  newman35 09:55 19 Feb 2007
Locked

I've just added a second internal HDD and want to put an Acronis Image, of my main C drive,onto it.
However this HDD already has stuff on it from earlier, and I want to 'clean' it before putting the new image onto it.
My question is, should I just use 'delete' to take all the files/folders off, or use 'format the disk'? Is there a difference?

  johndrew 10:24 19 Feb 2007

If you use `delete` the files can be recovered until they are overwritten by something else (another file). If you do a full `format` you will probably destroy the files. However if the `stuff` on the HDD is yours and it doesn`t matter if it is recovered at some point, just delete it and put your image on it as some of what was on the HDD will be overwritten anyway.

  newman35 10:57 19 Feb 2007

Thanks, johndrew, that explains it fine- the stuff on it at the moment is all mine, so I'll just use 'delete'.
Thanks.

  terryf 23:17 19 Feb 2007

But then remember to empty the recycle bin

  newman35 07:42 20 Feb 2007

Thanks, terryf, I did !!

This thread is now locked and can not be replied to.

Elsewhere on IDG sites

OnePlus 5 review

Alice Saey's mesmerising animation for Dutch singer Mark Lotterman

iPad Pro 10.5in (2017) review

Comment booster votre iPhone ?