Firewall.. unistall ZA and install new system

fullyfitted 21:54 30 Aug 2009

After reading about the various problems members met with Zone alarm I decided some time ago not to update to the latest version.
However my version of ZA is now so far out of date I’ve decided to dump ZA and try something like Comodo or PC Tools Firewall Plus. Reading the search files on ZA this seems to raise another set of problems and it appears that the best way to get rid is to do it safe mode and use the ZA installation tool.
Any one got any other advice or suggestions? (I’m a complete novice I don’t want to go into the registry)
Assuming I get rid of ZA and have down loaded my new system ready for installation what sequence do I need to follow, i.e. is it safe to run for a short period without a firewall or can I use Windows firewall as a temporary measure?

Running XP home edition

Any advice would be welcome

Thanks

FF

Sea Urchin 22:13 30 Aug 2009

Go into the Start menu - Programs - and the ZoneAlarm entry, right click on the uninstaller and select 'Properties'. In the target box add a space and then /clean to the end so it looks like this: C:\Program Files\Zone Labs\ZoneAlarm\zauninst.exe /clean then click 'Apply' and 'OK'. Open ZA and turn off the load on boot option (under Preferences), reboot and then run the uninstaller (the one you changed the shortcut for). This will get rid of ZA. Go to the Windows temp folder and delete everything, then find the folder named Internet logs, delete it, then empty your recycle bin. ZA should be gone.

fullyfitted 22:18 30 Aug 2009

Sea Urchin

Many thanks, that looks like something within my range of technical ability, I will report back when I've sorted my other part of query

FF

fullyfitted 19:43 01 Sep 2009

Evening Sea Urchin,
Apologies for not responding sooner but the Bank Holiday and family took priority.