Firewall

Green Eyes 18:43 31 Dec 2006

I have a question about firewalls for my home PC which I use for personal banking amongst other things.

The question is - can I rely on the Windows XP firewall or should I install another? If so, any advice on free ones that would do the job and do they work alongside the Windows XP firewall or should this be turned off?

I know a lot of people criticise MSN's offerings and business practices. However I'm not technically qualified to get involved in that debate. My only concern is protecting my data and would appreciate any advice.

Thanks and happy new year!

bremner 18:45 31 Dec 2006

You should not really on the Windows Firewall when there are such excellent free alternatives such as ZoneAlarm click here

howard64 18:46 31 Dec 2006

the windows firewall is next to useless - I use zone alarms free one and have not had any problems as yet {perhaps that is risking things saying it] I use online banking and run all my progs before going on line. spybot s&d, adaware, windows defender and avg.

Totally-braindead 18:48 31 Dec 2006

The trouble with the windows firewall is it only blocks one way.
Generally you can only use one firewall. I use Zone Alarm which is free for personal use. Just download it to your desktop, go offline, disable the windows one and install the Zone Alarm one. Theres other free ones if you don't like Zone Alarm click here

Technotiger 19:04 31 Dec 2006

Personally I prefer Kerio, I tried the free version and liked it so much (easier to use than ZA - which I used to use) that I bought the full version. If you would like to try the free version of Kerio you actually get the Full version for the first month, thereafter, unless you buy it, it automatically reverts to the Free version.

click here

Technotiger 19:04 31 Dec 2006

PS - I also have a hardware firewall within my Modem Router.

pcbobby 19:23 31 Dec 2006

I also disabled MS firewall.

The following was recomended by forum members.
So far -so good.