firefox bookmark another problem

brigtoo 12:02 05 Jan 2006

i lost all bookmarks, but this forum pointed me to a solution, the present problem is when i try to bookmark a new site i dont get the complete drop down list to choose from, only 4 are listed. i use to click the arrow to the right of the list window and this opened the complete list.
it must be obvious that im a complete novice with p.c.s

brigtoo 12:07 05 Jan 2006

after further investigation i have found that the "bookmark this page" function wont work at all. any solutions

octal 12:36 05 Jan 2006

I'll try and explain.

When Firefox installs, it also installs what they call a profile folder, this site shows the location of it click here have a look in there for a file called bookmarks.html, then back it up somewhere where you can find it again.

Probably the profile folder has got corrupted somehow, so after you've backed up your bookmarks you can delete the folder. Now you can either re-start Firefox, in which case it will ask you to create a new profile because it can't find the old one, or remove firefox alltogether and re-install it. Then go back to manage bookmarks and re-import them from the location where you backed them up to.

Hamish 13:52 05 Jan 2006

I suggested this link click here in your previous post but I do not know if you tried it as you never tick that post as resolved. It still may help. If you solove your problem please let us know how as it may help others

brigtoo 14:34 05 Jan 2006

i didnt use that method as i have only a very basic comprehension of how it all works. i used the copy and paste to desktop method, as i understood this. i dont even know if its ok to delete the copy of my bookmarks from the desk top, after using it.
i do tick the resolved box but it never shows on the helproom main page.
i again thank you all for the help.

Hamish 14:49 05 Jan 2006