Expert on Company Servers Please - ?Win NT 2000

The Potter 21:39 03 Apr 2006

Hi, been ages since I've been here but I do hope someone can shed some light. It's regarding the server at work. Please note that I am not an expert, just appear to be the most practical bod regarding computers in the building (ahem). What I'm looking for is not a 'how to' but 'is it possible'. Here goes:

Some 'expert' set the server up a couple of years ago. In basic language it has 1 (apparent)drive for management 1 and 2, (lets call it A) and 1 'apparent' drive for everyone else including the software for the accounts team and the payroll dept (I'll call this B). Everyone that has been employed since then has had a new folder set up on the B drive but everyone else on that drive can view their documents but they can't view anyone elses (as it should be!). Unfortunately, it has been brought to light that everyone on A drive can view everyone elses on the 'lower' management' team but not on the 'top'management team.

This is not public knowledge (in my workplace) as it would cause an outrage! The 'expert' who set up the whole thing had disappeared and our new 'expert' didn't seem to have any more idea on the subject than me.

Now we have found out that we may be able to contact the original 'expert'. But I'm concerned that even if we could get him in, things would remain as clear as mud.

So .....

Can't we have 1 drive with everyone and all shared software on it; noone can acces any other folder(nay, even file!) unless given permission (ie: lets have a password please?!). Can the whole thing then be set so, lets say me, can log on to another computer as me and still be able to access the files I have the password for - my own and payroll say?