Excel 2003 Help - How to Highlight search resukts?

Toni B 18:05 10 Nov 2007

Hello Forum

Any power Excel users out there,

I would like to highlight search results in Excel 2003, the current default option is very difficult to see as it is almost the same colour as the page itself ,I would like to highlight the cell(s) found with another colour is this possibe? if so how?

Regards Toni

Legolas 18:12 10 Nov 2007

Ok I'm no expert but I think if you click into the cell you want to hghlight and choose format from the top menu and then conditional formatting then format you can choose patterns which allows you to change the colour for the highlighted cell.

Toni B 18:18 10 Nov 2007

Hello Legolas thank you for the time to read and reply to my query.

What I need is..... when I do a search of the spread sheet (ctrl + F) I want any results to my search query highlighted in a different colour so that it/ they stand out,the current settings are very difficult to see as it is nearly identical to the background of the spreadsheet itself

Thanks Toni

Fermat's Theorem 18:26 10 Nov 2007

you can just highlight all the relevant cells and, as Legolas has pointed out, enter the criterion for your search - i.e., >5, <7 etc., and choose the format that will make your results stand out for you in your spreadsheet.

Hope this helps :-)

Fermat's Theorem 18:28 10 Nov 2007

... Should have said "enter the criterion for your search in the "Conditional Formatting" module ...

Legolas 19:05 10 Nov 2007

Ah Toni

Legolas 19:07 10 Nov 2007

Ah I see what you are after now unfortunately that is outside my very limited knowledge of excel. You Need VOG as he is an excel wizard

VoG II 19:36 10 Nov 2007

I don't know any native feature for doing this. You could use a macro. ALT + F11 to open the Visual Basic Editor, Insert > Module. Copy and paste in

Sub FindHighlight()
Dim tempCell As Range, Found As Range, sTxt
Set Found = Range("A1")
sTxt = InputBox("Enter value for search")