everybody hates norton

pac73 06:55 10 Feb 2006

Im using norton internet security 2006.Ive only been using it since dec23rd.I think its alright.But im new to computers,so i would,nt be able to compare with other av,s.But ive seen on this forum and many others ive read,people saying they hate norton.I was wondering why?And should i uninstall it for avg7 or avast.Any opinions appreciated.

Taff™ 07:06 10 Feb 2006

Norton does a good job but a lot of us on the forum find it intrusive and using too many resources on the computer. AVG or Avast are perfectly adequate for us and a home user would certainly not go far wrong with either. The advanced spam features in NIS 2006 and the e-mail handling are very good and as an integrated package Norton is OK. By using Avast or AVG you do need a seperate firewall and other programs - it`s your choice.

skidzy 07:11 10 Feb 2006

Trouble with Norton is like Taff says...its a very hungry program,possibly slowing your system down...it did mine.I took it off mine and now use:

Spybot
Adaware
Microsoft antispy
Ewido
Winaso

All these above Antispyware programs

With Avg Antivirus

And Zonealarm firewall

I know this sounds a lot,but they are needed and my system runs a lot smoother as opposed to having Norton.

Hope this helps.

wee eddie 07:54 10 Feb 2006

Sometimes I think that it slows things a bit more than I'd like, but it does do the business.

interzone55 08:17 10 Feb 2006

I can't stand Norton myself, I've found it can destabalise systems on occasion, and it's an absolute nightmare to fully remove when I have to take it off friends PCs.

My, and others, main problem with Norton though is that there is no point in paying aroud £45, then annual subs, for services that can be had for free by using a combination of Avast, Zone Alarm, AdAware etc.