EULA's Are they really Legal?

User-312386 18:43 24 Jul 2006

Hi guys

This one has been nagging me for ages.

If i buy some software and then open the packaging and not agree to the EULA(End User License Agreement) can i take it back? The supplier/retailer normally says NO.

The reason i say this is that surely a contract is between 2 parties and has to be agreed upon. Bearing in mind that the contract is on the inside of the packet, is it binding?

My answer to the above and it is my humble opinion us that it is not binding and if you went to court then i am sure you would win, as long as you took the packaging into court. This archaic way in which we have to agree to something after we have purchased it has to stop.

This is my opinion and i am not a lawyer.

How can you agree to something that you can not read until you have opened the packet?

Now you may say you can go on the internet to read EULA's, my answer to that is some people can not afford internet access.

I just want to open this up to the forum and see what we all think.

FelixTCat 18:49 24 Jul 2006

IMHO, the EULA probably is legal and enforceable. It is the retailer's refusal to take back the product which could be challenged, if necessary in court.

Regards,

Felix

Totally-braindead 18:53 24 Jul 2006

Never really thought about it. I think this would have perhaps been better in Speakers Corner but I personally think, and I'm not a lawyer or anything either, that it would depend on what they said in the EULA. If they made some ridiculous demands then I think you may be right. A court in this case may uphold your case.
But lets face it, the ones I have seen just include agreements that try to stop sharing and copying of the programs etc etc and I don't see how a court would disagree with that.
I do see you point about having to open the packaging to read it though.

spuds 19:10 24 Jul 2006

Try this experiment, the results could be interesting.